“Anhi-a ko diri sa balay, kay gimingaw na ko nimo gamay.”

“Ang Balay ni Mayang” by Martina San Diego and Kyle Wong | I don’t speak Visayan. I don’t understand most of it. But when I heard this song last week on Love Radio, I was pretty much floored. Sure, it’s the cute melody and the adorable use of the language – this is, apparently, an entry to a Visayan songwriting competition organized by royalty-collecting body FILSCAP – and perhaps it’s me and my thing for cute songs in another language, like the Singto Numchok and Dia Frampton one I wrote about a few weeks ago. Or maybe because it’s twee. I don’t know. I don’t understand. But it just works. [NB]

Tagged ,

One thought on ““Anhi-a ko diri sa balay, kay gimingaw na ko nimo gamay.”

  1. Mark says:

    Nıce kaayo lge

Got something?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 718 other followers

