Pop goes the early noughties, part four: The boy bands and their screaming fans

“Sugar Rush” by Dream Street | James suggested this song when I was looking for ideas last week, and I’ll admit, I have not heard of these guys. Turns out, I vaguely have, since I had the soundtrack to the Pokémon movie (on cassette tape!) and I’ve probably seen them on All That. Also, one of the members of this band is a certain Jesse McCartney, he with a beautiful soul or whatever. I went through YouTube – oh, those achingly saccharine songs – and it’s amazing how the following is still there, albeit perhaps also powered by nostalgia. It’s funny how you don’t realize you listen to songs because you have a crush on the singer – and this goes when you’re young; I now have an aching awareness of my crush on, say, Joss Stone. Right now it seems so annoying, seeing girls fawn over Justin Bieber or his lookalikes, but when we were young you saw people go gaga over, say, Blue or N’Sync or the Backstreet Boys. Blue, in my case – my sister was a huge fan, and she had a crush on Lee Ryan, I think. Or was it my cousin? (Tomorrow: everything, inevitably, started with Britney Spears. Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

One thought on “Pop goes the early noughties, part four: The boy bands and their screaming fans

  1. “I start to blush…You are my sooo-gar rush! (enter Jesse’s back-up vocals…)”

    Ah…Those were the days! :D

Got something?

