Instrumentals we love, part seven: A chill breakdown

“Mt. Airy Groove” by Pieces of a Dream | I heard this song on Travis Holcombe’s KCRW show last week – on that rare moment when I listen to KCRW, mostly because I listen to too many things – and I actually enjoyed it. (Along the same lines of me hearing something off Gilles Peterson’s show. These jazzy people.) Pieces of a Dream recorded the track back in 1982, releasing it on their second album We Are One; this instrumental track from the Philadelphia band was notably sampled by Grandmaster Flash. “That’s one of my favorite instrumentals,” Travis tweeted me right after he played the song. I love it too myself, sir. [NB]

Got something?

