A week of whistling, day five: Nicksy’s second pick

“Prinsesa” by Apo Hiking Society | Some of my earliest memories as a human was my first trip to Baguio. I was three years old. I remember only three things: how green the place was (definitely not anymore), how I wanted a glass of Nesquik from our host, and how we all listened to cassette tapes of Apo Hiking Society while we were driven around the city. My mother pointed out, two decades later, that I always liked Apo, that I’d stop and listen closely whenever one of their songs came on the radio – must be the vocal harmonies – but I’d only know more about them as a young adult, when the two tribute albums to the band were released, forcing me to go through their originals. (I was a 90s kid, so I mostly knew them as noontime show hosts, although of course I knew they had songs.) The Itchyworms covered “Prinsesa” on one of those compilations, and that had a whistling element too, but I will, of course, post the original, if only for the childhood factor, but mostly because those vocal harmonies – from three men who, by a few twists of fate, became one of the Philippines’ most celebrated musicians. [NB] (Tomorrow: Rainy goes for a spooky whistle from, for most of you, Kill Bill.)

Got something?

