A week of whistling, day seven: Nicksy’s third pick

“Huwag Na Lang Kaya” by True Faith | But of course I have to write about this song. It’s not a universally-known one, but anyone who knows this (and there’s a lot of them) will first think of the whistling that forms the backbone of the chorus, that hint of fatalism in Medwin Marfil’s soothing vocal. (Not his whistle, apparently.) This, however, isn’t my favorite True Faith song: it would be “Minsan (Lang Ako Umibig)”, the last track off their first best-of album released in 2000, which my father bought, which introduced me to a band I always heard of but never really got to listen to. That compilation also had “Muntik Nang Maabot Ang Langit”, which Ely Buendia name-checked on the Eraserheads’ “Kamasupra”. But I digress. Back to the song. Again, that whistle of submission. Oh, man, never mind. Like Jake Peralta to Amy Santiago last week. But, again, I digress. [NB]

Got something?

