“I’m ready to take the lead.”


 
“Dancing Machine” by Lyonn | You’ve probably heard of Tyler Gelrud’s work for other bands – mostly small ones, but I bet I have some readers from Los Angeles here, who have heard of him. Anyway, now he’s based in Nashville, via Montreal, and during those travels he’s released a solo project under the name Lyonn. He emailed me to spruik his EP, Promenade, which was released last month and is now available on his Bandcamp page. There are interesting things going on: it’s the grace of alt-country mixed with the theatrics of California. It’s stuff you might call your usual singer-songwriter fare, but this song in particular, “Dancing Machine”, has a charm that grabs you. (The single off this record is “Midnight Mind”, which I can imagine the YA demographic liking.) [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

