“But then I met you, and night turned to day.”

“I Ain’t Been Lonely, Until I Met You” by Kyle Cox | A week back I got the chance to listen to the new album from Orlando-based songwriter Kyle Cox. The Plan, The Mess is produced by Mike Marsh, of the Avett Brothers (and formerly of Dashboard Confessional), who also plays drums on the record; it goes out on 30 September. The album’s a pleasant affair: you don’t come in expecting the world to be changed, of course, but it’s awash in husky atmosphere and homey conveniences, with no frills in most places. I highlight the single, “I Ain’t Been Lonely, Until I Met You”, but a track from the album – “Honey, Let’s Run Away” – is my favorite: a scratchy analog start, a good old sing-and-response sing-along, just brings me back. Thanks to Sarah for sending the link over. I know it’s her job, but you strike gold in these things sometimes. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

