“Ilan na ba ang talagang nagawa mong kanta?”

“The Yes Yes Show” by Parokya ni Edgar | I remember being really fascinated by this song. I was in high school, hearing this for the first time, and getting utterly convinced that it is another hip-hop song… and then the guys start rapping nonsense in Filipino, and it dawns on me that Parokya ni Edgar is taking the piss. (Sort of. Hip-hop is not something they’d shame away from, but so are parodies.) Hearing this on the radio again, the whole parody thing still feels fascinating. I feel odd about it. I mean, I’m older now. Back then my cousin claiming this song is about the Eraserheads breaking up (thus the “ang bayad mo sa jeepney…” line) was an amazing thing. Now it’s just a theory. [NB]

Got something?

