“If I ever fall down, you still my heart again.”

“Beat Of Your Love” by Paperplane Pursuit featuring Darren Ashley | I was in Kuala Lumpur last week, and part of that holiday involved me delivering gifts to one of Rainy’s friends, Zaty. So we talked, too, and I asked her what, in hindsight, was a pretty tough question: “give me a Malaysian artist that I can feature that isn’t Yuna or Zee Avi.” And then she gave me a name. Paperplane Pursuit’s a three-piece that’s bubbling under in the Malaysian scene, and this, their biggest single so far, is a jubilant piece of electropop that doesn’t sound very sugar-y, thankfully. (Additional points for featuring Darren Ashley, who you might remember as the vocalist for Bass Sekolah, who we recently featured.) So, yeah, something I brought home. It’s interesting how our neighbors have a lot to offer and we don’t get to hear it here because, to most of us, foreign music only means American music. Sigh. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

One thought on ““If I ever fall down, you still my heart again.”

Got something?

