“But, Nina, what were you thinking of?”

“A Postcard to Nina” by Jens Lekman | I’ve known of Jens for a while, but how come I have yet to write about him? Sure, I’ll admit I don’t listen to much of his songs, although I am aware of the history of “Your Arms Around Me”, specifically its stripped-down version. (And I have a couple of friends who are big fans.) But it took the Danish (again, like yesterday!) to bring me back to him, and to this song from his breakthrough album Night Falls Over Kortedala. This album is almost eight years old, would you believe it? And this funny song – about Jens, the beard – has this timeless, “Northern Sky”-like quality that caught me at the beginning. And then it gets ridiculous from there. And then it swings back. It’s absurd but it isn’t, and I like it. [NB]

Got something?

