“All I need is to be struck by your electric love.”

“Electric Love” by Børns | The comments to the YouTube video for the original version of the song – the one on the band’s official account, for some reason, is the acoustic version – is full of comments that say “Taylor Swift brought me here!” Well, I wasn’t, but then again, I don’t follow her on Instagram. (I don’t even have an Instagram account.) Anyway, the band is called Børns, and despite the Scandinavian affectation on the name, the group – well, actually, it’s a guy named Garrett Borns – is from Michigan. But, yes, the Scandinavian affectation – dreamy and glam, glitchy and soaring and all sorts of surprisingly accessible. I realize I’ve been averse to most electro-alternative coming out nowadays because they tend to sound too optimistic and utilize the same tools – choirs, ulk. You can, yes, argue that Børns has the same drawbacks, but I don’t know. There’s something timeless about this song. Must be the glam. His EP, Candy, is now available in all the usual places. [NB]

Got something?

