“I try to wait for it all, but it’s over.”

“Boundless” by Varick | Lesson in writing about songs you get sent for review: don’t read the YouTube comments. They were talking about Thom Yorke, and when I listened to this, I went, “he does sound like Thom Yorke!” Thankfully, Varick reminds me a bit of Linkin Park‘s Chester Bennington, so that’s defused. Based in New York, Keith Varick has a bit of a clash going on for him, which I like. His voice does sound like Thom, soaring and aching, but the electro affections underneath definitely have that 80s/00s feel, a bit like Muse and Depeche Mode and, well, Linkin Park during their Rick Rubin phase. It’s a nice clash, this. “Boundless” is now available on his Bandcamp page, alongside his debut EP. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

