Review: Chasing Yesterday by Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Chasing Yesterday by Noel Gallagher's High Flying BirdsBut of course Noel Gallagher would mellow out with age. I guess it’s my biases, but among the Gallagher brothers, he always seemed to be the guy who’d be more willing to give in to age and all of the coziness it entails. But I can’t help but feel that Chasing Yesterday, Noel’s second record under the High Flying Birds banner, went one step too far. Sure, I do not expect him to rock out and get rowdy – again, my biases, but that’s Liam’s job to fill – but this record, with its boozy modern-flavored psych rock with some saxophone thrown in for good measure, suffers from being a bit too one-note. Songs blend into each other, but don’t quite come up to a climax, and it all gets tedious. Yes, it does pick up in the last three tracks – “Ballad of the Mighty I”, the album’s closer, actually works as an album closer, anthemic and cathartic at the same time – but I went through a lot of gelatin for that? I’m just glad to hear things pick up at this point. I did badly want to enjoy this record. [NB] | 3/5

Got something?

