One week of One Direction: Took you home…

“Little Things” by One Direction | I haven’t always reviewed (purely) pop albums on the blog, partly because the genre’s not really up my alley, and partly because I don’t really have a good idea how to go about it. What do you say, exactly? One Direction’s sophomore release, 2012’s Take Me Home, was definitely produced to quickly capitalize on the really big reaction the lads got. It seems torn between two places. There was a bit more variety – the ballads, while surprising then, make sense now, although I don’t think they could do justice to Ed Sheeran’s lyrics – but at the same time, it clung on to the pop sensibilities of their debut, albeit with a wee bit more edge. And then it occurred to me: One Direction is a beginner’s guide to pop music, aimed squarely at teenage girls. This might sound like an insult, but it isn’t. We all have to start somewhere, right? I love Harry Styles singing to me about our chances together! This record spoke directly to their audience than the previous one, it seems to me, and that should ease them in towards more challenging stuff in the future. Wait. That still sounds snobbish. I still don’t get the devotion, outside the whole “cute, relatable guys singing about love” mantra. [NB]

Got something?

