Review: Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit by Courtney Barnett

Sometimes I Sit and Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit by Courtney BarnettPerhaps the most mind-blowing – forgive my use of the term; I couldn’t think of anything else – thing about Courtney Barnett’s music is just how well-written it is. They put the Aussie under the slacker category: the music is the laid-back kind of lazy, the lyrics just seem to come out of her head. But a closer listen to Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit reveals just how painstakingly crafted the songs are. There’s an uncanny sense of timing that you’ll get when you really pay attention to the record (and go past the admittedly typical sounds, arguably part of its charm). You’ll be surprised at how she suddenly drifts to sentimentality – even on a song about mundane things, like “Depreston”, although arguably houses getting more expensive does make you sentimental – and then there’s an observation you don’t expect her to make, and you have a grin on your face. That, perhaps, is the appeal of Courtney Barnett: underneath that half-arsed, lazy imagery is someone who just yearns to be heard, to be listened to in return. It’s disarming, how effectively she does it. [NB] | 5/5

One thought on “Review: Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit by Courtney Barnett

Got something?

