“Confine me, then erase me, babe.”

“Dead Inside” by Muse | I wasn’t that complimentary when Muse released the first taste off their upcoming album, Drones, but I had a caveat: it isn’t the official single. This is. And it is better. Marginally better, but still, I was right. Marginally right. “Dead Inside” continues the band’s back-to-basics approach for this album, but this is more interesting. It’s not a complete step back, but it’s sexy and hard at the same time. (I should not put those adjectives together.) It’s sparse. It’s a bit Depeche Mode-like, but updated. The lyrics still feel a bit off, but you know, this might just do the trick? I don’t know. [NB]

Got something?

