“I’ll win your heart with a woop-a-woo.”

Rainy Martini's Uke Week“Toothpaste Kisses” by the Maccabees | I like the Maccabees. I remember listing them as one of my favorites back when Niko and I were just friends. Now we’re frenemies. Or are we? Jake Shimabukuro once said that the ukulele is the music instrument of peace. (Ironic because he said those words before playing “Bohemian Rhapsody”.) At first it reminded me of the ocean, or a bottle of coconut sunblock lotion, or hula dancers. But along the way I realized how it always gives you happy vibes, no matter how sad the song you’re playing is. Maybe it’s just the absence of bass strings but I’ll call it the uke magic. This song has bar chords and the strumming is continuous, so if you’re a beginner, it’s a good song to play if you want to practice your grip. [SY]

Got something?

