“It’s just gravitational. We are unstoppable.”

“Unstoppable” by Lianne La Havas | This came out as I was decompressing from my Taiwan trip, so I guess I have a good proper excuse for missing this the first time. After releasing her folk-inflected debut, Lianne La Havas has appeared in a bunch of places, notably finding herself in the company of Prince. And now she’s back with a new single, the first from her sophomore release Blood, which hits stores in July. It’s a bit of a left turn: more soulful, a bit chunkier, a bit whompier. My adjectives are not making sense. Frankly I’m trying to avoid leading with “I’m getting a serious Jessie Ware vibe here” – I’m not suggesting a rip-off, because this is sunnier, more soulful, and the sort of song you listen to while relaxing in a bathtub at a particularly posh hotel. For a moment you think of nabbing all the toiletries, but this song distracts you. As it should. [NB]

Got something?

