“Sa mga may-ari, sa mga sisikat, sa mga pabida…”

“Kontrabida” by Assembly Generals | Insert “why is Niko still so behind on local music?” comment here. Okay. Good? Okay. Well, forgive me, but you know. Anyway. I’ve had a lot of car trouble the past week, and that means, yes, I had the car for myself, and yes, I had the chance to listen to Jam’s (thankfully now daily) local music show, Fresh Filter. Assembly Generals was on, and I like that they straddle both alternative and hip-hop sensibilities, while sounding like neither at the same time. (Well, I initially described them as a bit reminiscent of Sandwich without the overly earnest undertones. And then I realized this is another Raimund Marasigan project. So maybe an evolution or something.) As it turns out, I’m not that late – they just released their eponymous debut two months ago. But still. [NB]

Got something?

