“He gets all the highlights wrapped in joy.”

“Funny Little Frog” by God Help The Girl | Talk about a song that leaped underneath me despite the stuff I’ve heard lately. Yes, I know about God Help The Girl – the film, that is, the one with Emily Browning, the one written by Belle and Sebastian frontman Stuart Murdoch. I know that there’s a soundtrack to it. I didn’t know that the project goes as far back as 2009 – it’s Stuart writing songs about ladies growing up, backed by his band, and sung by female vocalists – that there was an album at the time, and that this is one of those songs. I’ve always liked “Funny Little Frog” – it was a song dear to me, mostly because of the whole secret crush connotation – and only uncovered this version two weekends ago. Brittany Stallings. It’s hard to find her on the Internet now, but she takes this song (one of only two songs covered from B&S) and gives it that smart yet sexy American lilt, and coupled with the atmospheric jazzy arrangement… I only need a new secret crush to dedicate this to now. [NB]

Got something?

