Review: My Love Is Cool by Wolf Alice

My Love Is Cool by Wolf AliceI can’t be immersed in every new, buzzy band that comes out of whatever corner, so I hope I can be forgiven for not knowing that Wolf Alice began with a more folk-influenced sound. I mean, I wouldn’t have known! My Love Is Cool, the British four-piece’s debut full-length, sounds confident in its apparently adopted sound without losing the charm of its original one. The transition, across two EPs, sounds seamless now, with tracks that rival the slick crunch of Garbage and, in the few place where the folk still shines (like “Swallowtail”), the introspection of Villagers. And, in lead vocalist Ellie Rowsell, they have someone who can easily manage the transition without sounding uncomfortable – a band that has a crunchy rhythm section would falter if the frontman (or woman, in this case) would get drowned in all the shifts. My Love Is Cool is satisfying and exciting – much more exciting than you’d expect. [NB]4/5

Got something?

