Review: Pink Funky by Mamamoo

Pink Funky by MamamooNow I’ve thought about it, I’m not quite sure why, of all the K-pop groups I’ve been exposed to over the past couple of years, it’s Mamamoo that caught my imagination the most. Maybe it’s their lack of flash. Maybe it’s the jazzy undertones to their songs. Maybe it’s the fact that they have really good vocalists. Someone out there is sure to disagree, but then again, I don’t know a lot. Yet it hasn’t stopped me from being excited for Pink Funky, the group’s second mini-album. It’s more of their understated pop, with a more irresistible groove under it: “Um Oh Ah Yeh” and “Self Camera” creep and then astound. (Other tracks hint towards a diversity in style, but maybe it’ll take a while for me to warm to them. I’m looking at you, “따끔”, as much as it is a vocal showcase.) Sure, it might be my biases talking, but amidst the neverending wham-bam that is the Korean pop scene, finding someone that flies under the radar and fits your sensibilities just gets you excited. Knowing that it isn’t a fluke gets you more excited. [NB]4/5

5 thoughts on “Review: Pink Funky by Mamamoo

Got something?

