“I don’t blame you much for wanting to be free.”

“Do What You Gotta Do” by the Strollers | Now, a quick note about the blog: we’re going on another week-long break. I don’t usually do that at this time of the year, but I’ve been very busy these past few weeks, and with me flying to Kuala Lumpur again this weekend I decided to take the chance to give this thing a breather. So, to sort of sign off – we’ll still have album reviews tomorrow – here’s a Malaysian band from the 60s and 70s. The Strollers were a big deal at the time, filling stadiums with original songs, at a time when the English pop-rock scene in the region was bustling. (I actually stumbled upon them after the inevitable sidebar surfing I did while compiling the songs for my SG50 inventory earlier this month.) Their biggest album, Waiting Is…, is recognized as a psychedelic delight from these shores – but then they split up soon after, in the mid-1970s. So, well, there. I’m off to their side of the world again, to do obligations and meet friends and maybe buy some records. After tomorrow’s album reviews, you’ll hear from me again on 7 September, although our Twitter account should be up and about to some degree. [NB]

Got something?

