“I hope the world sees the same person that you’ve always been to me.”

“All Your Favorite Bands” by Dawes | Maybe it’s the stations I listen to, but I’m hearing a lot of sentimentally positive tunes lately. Glen Hansard’s “Winning Streak” is one, a song that apparently was supposed to be called “Losing Streak” until it just didn’t work out. So, a flip in metaphor, and suddenly it’s a heartwarming song that doesn’t annoy me like most millennials’s idea of positivity is. This is another. Off their new album of the same name, Dawes has made a track that’s, well, just sweet. Sure, it sounds like a farewell track, the sort that ends with “we’ll meet again, but I don’t know when,” but it is sweet and hopeful and all that. And if you don’t care for my half-arsed analysis then you can just play “spot the band member” in the just released music video. [NB]

One thought on ““I hope the world sees the same person that you’ve always been to me.”

Got something?

