“Pretty girls don’t know the things that I know.”

“Magnets” by Disclosure featuring Lorde | When I heard that Lorde had a new song out – albeit via a collaboration with Disclosure, on their latest release Caracal – I was quite skeptical. Sure, I liked her in the lead-up to her debut full-length Pure Heroine, but – perhaps through a combination of overplay and the fact that she settled into the gloomy, dark template, as evidenced by her Tears for Fears cover – I got tired of her. Well, granted, it is early days for her. She’s still working on her second record. But I’m encouraged by “Magnets” because, well, there’s the tender side of Lorde I haven’t heard in ages. Well, arguably it’s more tender than in, say, “Tennis Court”, and I liked that precisely because of the clash between the mechanical and the romantic. I think her working with a different set of people – the Disclosure brothers – brought out that different side in her. So there’s that. And there’s me wondering if me liking the more accessible, vocal-centric Lorde sound here makes me somewhat sexist… [NB]

Got something?

