“If we’re strong, we can win it.”

“Call Off Your Dogs” by Lake Street Dive | Of course I have not heard of Lake Street Dive before, despite the fact that they’ve been around since 2004, and wowing crowds on television, on YouTube and on stage for the past five years or so. Granted, the reason I’m noticing them now is because of a chance listen to a different radio station, and the fact that they’re now signed with Nonesuch; their next album will be released in January. Anyway, “Call Off Your Dogs” is the first I’ve heard of them and, considering my weak spot for a good groove, this fits. Touches of Motown and Philly filter through a not-quite-bombastic sound, and on earphones you can easily wrap your head around it. Too bad I first heard this in a cramped vehicle, and I next listened to this at the office, where a security camera is pointed right at me. I don’t want to go viral like that. [NB]

One thought on ““If we’re strong, we can win it.”

Got something?

