“I choose to be alone, soldier, so you don’t see me fall.”

“Naked” by Savannah Dumetz | If the song Charlotte recommended yesterday fits the first day of summer, this fits the last day – or, specifically, that moment when the rains start to fall and it feels like everything’s over. You know that tug of war. “Why can’t summer last forever?” soon becomes “why is it so damn hot?” But I digress again. This is a quiet burner from Savannah Dumetz, based in London and just 19. Perhaps you’re familiar with the narrative of a young one having such a voice. I wouldn’t call it powerful; I don’t think that’s the point. There’s the urge to belt out here, but she keeps it down to wonderful effect. She reminds me of Lianne La Havas, actually, only with a better chance of being a diva… you know what I mean. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

