“Let me hold your hand again and again and again.”

“Hold My Hand” by Lee Hi | So, the first K-pop act I fell in love with – and arguably the K-pop act that led me and Shalla to be a couple – has returned. How’s that for a gloopy love story? Anyway, Lee Hi has returned with a new album Seoulite, produced by Epik High‘s Tablo. Or, well, it’s half the album; the second half should be out next month. These Koreans, they make album releases so complicated. So, no album review just yet; it’s now up to me to write about one of her two new singles. “Breathe” is a straightforward yet feels-y ballad written by SHINee member Jonghyun, but as it’s early in the morning I’m writing about “Hold My Hand”, a lovely, swing-y pick-me-upper that just makes clear that YG Entertainment are molding her into an Adele/Meghan Trainor hybrid. I don’t mind. It sounds good either way. [NB]

Got something?

