“There’s a whole world outside your own.”

“We Can” by Jeremy Passion | The press release for this (hat tip to Alison) plays up the fact that Jeremy Passion is popular on YouTube and has Filipino roots to boot. Knowing me, these raises red flags – that doesn’t quite convince me as much as most of my fellow countrymen; you know our misplaced pride on anybody who’s minutely Filipino making waves abroad. (Hailee Steinfeld is coming to Manila in a few weeks, by the way. As a pop star. Remember when people got crazy over the fact that she’s a quarter Filipino? That a quarter Filipino is an Oscar nominee?) But sorry about that. I’m sounding dismissive. “We Can” is a nice throwback to the R&B of a decade back, the early-00s sort that populated my high school years. It slinks gently, perhaps making you feel really good if you’re up for it. (And there’s a Filipino lyric to boot.) I’m afraid it isn’t my thing, though. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

