“I’m not gonna force you. You have to decide.”

“Shelter” by Joy Oladokun | The first thing I got once Charlotte (you know her by now) emailed me about Joy Oladokun was look for her on YouTube. There’s a clip of her covering Sam Cooke lying around there, and that should provide enough clues. The Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter has a warmth that doesn’t always break through in this world of divas and belters – and that down-to-earth quality is nicely captured on “Shelter”, the first single off her upcoming debut album Carry, made possible through a Kickstarter campaign. The tendency is for emotions like in this song – “will you love me?” is expressed in a sweeping manner. Nothing wrong with that, but there are other ways too, and Joy does it pretty nicely. Warm, gentle, strong nonetheless. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

One thought on ““I’m not gonna force you. You have to decide.”

Got something?

