“Look away, my darling. Look away from it all.”

“Look Away” by Anna Tivel | I thought I had my backlog cleared, but apparently I lost one email in the post. So much for going on that break. Anyway. Anna Tivel’s a Portland-based folk singer-songwriter (that’s a lot of labels) whose stuff is, well, good old Americana, buoyed by that sweet, calming voice of hers. I’ve had the chance to listen to her upcoming album, Heroes Waking Up, coming out via the folks at Fluff and Gravy on 20 May, and it’s a nice collection of quiet, calming things. (Or maybe it’s the potential mess happening just outside my offices.) The record reflects the two years Anna spent on the road – the lyrics have this sense of longing – and is aided by some twinkling production from Austin Nevins, who’s worked with the likes of Josh Ritter and the Mountain Goats. Heroes Waking Up is a nice thing. Get it if you can? [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

