“Sa gabi, ikaw ang panaginip.”

“O Pag-Ibig” by Bailey May and Ylona Garcia | At this rate I am expecting negative feedback now that I’m writing (again) about the more mainstream side of local pop music. And, to be honest, this song isn’t that great: the chorus is quite repetitive and there’s this weird low voice creeping up to, I guess, man up Bailey’s higher tones. (It’s not exactly necessary.) I chanced upon this song while channel surfing over the weekend. I don’t watch Myx because of their need to put lyrics on the screen – I’m just against it, especially if it’s that obtrusive. But the moment I caught this song I thought it’s a nice summer-y tune with a sentiment that, while familiar, is laid out in a way that’s slightly different than the rest. Also, Ylona’s voice is so striking. [NB]

Got something?

