“Of all these empty faces, I miss yours the most.”

 

“Cup of Tea” by Forests | Speaking of mori girl, Forests. (That was both a forced segue and a forced Stephen Colbert reference.) Inevitably, considering the people I’ve been following, I’ve heard a lot about this Singaporean band – pretty new, I think: they’ve only had one EP, Worst Beach Vacation Ever, Circa 1997, and one LP, Sun Eat Moon Grave Party, to their name, as far as I can tell – but only this weekend have I gotten around to listening to the latter. It whizzes by so quickly. I mean that in a good way, of course. It’s intense and pointed and the hazy kind of confusing, but I ended the record with both a feeling of satisfaction and a niggling sense that there is more to come, that there should be more to come. As we call it here, “bitin”. There is more to come, right? [NB]

Got something?

