“…but I don’t know how, when I’m alone with you.”

“More Than Friends” by Romance & Rebellion | The first thing that came to mind when this song came to my inbox: “is this another American pop punk band?” It’s not that I hate them, but I have this particular frustration, about how they all sound the same – loud sounds, arguably whiny vocals. They even have similar names, rooted in the romanticization of things that don’t usually get such treatment. Romance & Rebellion? It sounds like that. Well, not really. “More Than Friends”, the single off their new eponymous EP, is thankfully somewhere between that pop-punk sound (it still had that crunch) and the radio-friendly vibes of pop-rock at the turn of this millennium. Same goes for the rest of the EP – “Vanity Fair” comes close to the latter side, which I like. All right, maybe my opinions of all those other bands is defined by my age. But, if you ought to know one thing about me, too much of one thing is, well, too much. Balance struck. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

