“I’m still the loving kind, but I’m too tired to fight.”

“Rosie’s Drugstore” by Birdie | Let’s get a few things straight. Birdie is a band. An indie pop band, to be exact, started in 1998 by filmmaker Paul Kelly and singer Deborah Wykes, whose common factor are stints in Saint Etienne. They’re not Birdy. (Remember that, Google.) I chanced upon this song after deciding to try out this German radio station, Nordwestradio, with a daytime music policy that, perhaps by accident, focuses on sophisticated, obscure singer-songwriters. This fits the mold, and it’s a nice bounce, this. “Rosie’s Drugstore”, off their 2011 album Triple Echo, has simple lyrics (and, arguably, a limited metaphor) but it flows gently and nicely. I’m not sure if this could shift me back to my 2006 indie pop phase, but you’ll never know.

One thought on ““I’m still the loving kind, but I’m too tired to fight.”

Got something?

