“All I can do is shine on you.”

“Another Way” by Wondermints | I said this a couple of weeks back: I find myself thoroughly enjoying the mix of tunes on German station Nordwestradio – jazz, soul, indie pop, all with a sheen of sophistication. My entries for today and tomorrow were results of a listening session, beginning with American band Wondermints. They’re a band that has mostly fallen into obscurity, more because its members are busy with side projects, the most notable of which being as members of the backing band for Brian Wilson. And then you figure out the connection. I heard “Another Way” – from their 2002 album Mind If We Made Love To You – and didn’t quite make the connection to the Beach Boys, but again I listen to it, and again I listen to it, and there it was. The group’s steeped in that 60s sound – that Wall of Sound thing I like; lush instrumentations and a smattering of influences tucked in if you know where you look. Like, say, this song from the first Austin Powers film, made at Mike Myers’ request. [NB]

Got something?

