“Handa na ba o tulala?”

“Dahan-dahan” by Francis’ Playground | Now, something from the inbox… from Iloilo. Local music! On my inbox! It’s both thrilling… and scary, because, well, you know, exposure. Anyway, I have long encountered Francis’ Playground on Twitter – it’s one of those things that happen when you start flirting around with local music acts, telling them who you are. Of course, chances are you’ve heard previous single “Lakbay” before – I haven’t – so you probably know what I’m going to say next: it’s funky but not aggressively so, and Bobet Solinep’s vocals remind me of early Kala in a good way: down-to-earth yet filled with gravitas and a touch of mischief. “Dahan-dahan”, the new release which somehow found its way to my inbox, is, dare I say, is a feel-good song. We won’t have it any other way. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

