“Oh, my love, be there for me!”

“Be There For Me” by Mariam | It’s rare for a song on my inbox to get to me on the very first try, to the point that by the end of the song I’m already singing along to it. Granted, it’s just the chorus, and it’s not a hard chorus to pin down, but you know. Anyway, this song – Mariam’s “Be There For Me” definitely has Emeli Sandé vibes going on. It’s a powerful track and a strong statement, a good opener from the London-based singer-songwriter. Her EP, Heart to Heart, which comes out in a couple of weeks, keeps things going along, although at three tracks (plus two interludes) it feels a bit too short. The production’s booming, her voice flows sweetly – a good post-typhoon soundtrack, at the risk of sounding blah about it. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

