“I know that with you, they disappear.”

“Soon” by Margaux Avril | A bit of YouTube sidebar exploration led us to Margaux Avril last year. There is, yes, a lot about her we had to learn. For one, she holds both French and American citizenship. That explains why she’s based in New York now, doing photography. “Tell me more about her,” Jeany told me when I told her about it. Well, here’s more. Margaux’s getting a new single out, which drops officially on the 18th, although you can hear it today. “Soon” has more in common to that first song we wrote about, “L’air de rien”: both have this airy feel, a floating through the clouds feel. The English language makes a difference, of course. You know how songs in French have this whimsical vibe? This one’s got a bit more grit to it, arguably. Perhaps it’s the production, but it’s the familiarity with the language that gives it that feel, I think. Then again, I’m just one person speaking, and also liking that the transition is not as jarring as it could have been. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

