“Can’t anybody see we’ve got a war to fight?”

“Roads” by Lapcat | I’ve been playing with the new album from Swiss-American group Lapcat these past few weeks. The mailer told me it’ll wriggle its way into my head, so I listened to it the first time, and it did, kinda. And then I listened to it again. Same results. And if you think that sounds like I’m not moved or anything, well, that perhaps is the point. She’s Bad – which drops this Friday – just stands there, seemingly, and then it does wriggle its way into your head. There are little things in the album that would take you by surprise, and in a good way at that. This song I’m posting here though – out of necessity – is not in the album: it’s a cover of Portishead’s “Roads”, which is a bit of a swerve considering the classier, perhaps dreamier sound of She’s Bad. You know how that band can get very hazy, you know. They can do that too? Yes, and after all that wriggling into my head I did not expect that I’d need something in my face. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

