“…but then you know it’s time for them to go.”

“Who Know Where The Time Goes” by Eva Cassidy | Eva, of course, has had an interesting story: feted in the Washington D.C. scene but barely known outside of it, she died twenty years ago this month of melanoma. Two years after her death, those Brits at the BBC played her music, and she found a wider audience. I’ve heard of Eva’s music a few times before, yes, but two nights ago the “it hit me” moment happened. I was doing some writing while listening to New Zealand radio – I have seemingly shifted to speech radio; perhaps it’s a reflection of my recent state of mind? – and perhaps it’s the time of night, or the sensitivity of my head, or the fact that the two Belgian radio stations I listen to the most no longer stream on TuneIn (bye, Radio 1 and Studio Brussel – I am genuinely distressed), but this all began echoing and resonating. I went as far as emailing the presenter at the time for the song title. Company – you don’t know when it’ll be there, even if people claim to be just that. [NB]

Got something?

