“That woman, she from Venus. Don’t play around. She a genius.”

“Woman” by Diana Gordon | For this, the last entry from the inbox for this year, I wondered: where have I come across her before? And then I remembered – I watched her perform on Stephen Colbert’s show. So that’s why. That, and there’s a big chance you’ve come across Diana Gordon’s work. She’s been doing EDM stuff for a good decade or so, but under the name Wynter Gordon. She also co-wrote a bunch of songs off Beyoncé’s Lemonade. (That, you most likely know.) She’s released a new album since – The Legend of just dropped this summer – and this is the first music video off it. Now, as this is a pretty strong female empowerment song, I’m not really sure if I should be writing about it. I’m the target, right? But it is still familiar, comforting, and assertive enough. Lulls you into being, you know, stung. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

