Review: Prisoner by Ryan Adams

Prisoner by Ryan AdamsThere was a lot of buzz around Prisoner, the new album from Ryan Adams, but to be honest, I don’t know if it all matches up. Don’t get me wrong. It’s not a bad Ryan Adams album. If anything, this is really the break-up record (while his cover of Taylor Swift’s 1989 just suffered, or benefited, from coming so soon after his split with Mandy Moore). There are the usual elements from a Ryan Adams record, and in the right places it pulses with energy, flows with excitement. All that said, it is what it is: a Ryan Adams record. It doesn’t push the envelope – although it’s not what I wanted him to do, I think – but it doesn’t exactly retreat back. I dare say it actually turned out to be more unexciting than what “Do You Still Love Me?” suggested when that premiered. But again, it could be the hype. It is a good Ryan Adams album. It’s just not something I think I’ll remember. [NB]3/5

Got something?

