“I know sometimes everyone wants to be someone else.”

“Follow The Leader” by Foxygen | There are songs that you think is one thing but turn out to be another, but it induces a bit of whiplash if what you thought was old turns out to be new. I really thought this was the Eagles’ “One of These Nights”. But I have been out of the loop, yes, and Foxygen’s new album Hang, where this single comes off of, is powered by a full orchestra. So that’s points for me. But I can’t get the thought of this sounding like the Eagles off my head. Now, this is not a slam on either – I actually like “One of These Nights”, and hearing “Follow the Leader” progress to a non-electric Electric Light Orchestra nod was bliss. [NB]

Got something?

