“Come and take me in your arms.”

“Scared of the Dark” by Steps | I’ve told this story before, but it warrants repeating. When I was in high school – second year, I think – I once publicly professed that Steps was one of my favorite musical acts. Looking back, I really didn’t know why. I just liked their songs, I guess, however hokey “5, 6, 7, 8” turned out to be with time. Must be the idea of harmonies. I told you, I don’t know. I know my classmates literally laughed out loud at that pronouncement, like what I like is something to be ashamed of. I tell this story again because, surprisingly, Steps are back together. It’s the comeback not even I, a guy used to see all these acts reunite, expected. Like, they have been away for so, so long – why now? Well, why not? “Scared of the Dark” is a decent pop track, at least – and I don’t think it will age terribly. [NB]

Got something?

