Things without words #25: Jazz bending time (we’re pretty sure of that)

 

“Taubenfeld” by Kuhn Fu | Let me set the scene here. I write this on a Saturday afternoon. The temperature’s a sweltering 33 degrees – knowing Manila, this will feel more like 40, especially now that summer is kicking in. My social media feeds is filled with reminders on how to beat heatstroke, apparently because the sun is closest to the equator or something, which makes me wonder why this never came up before. I’m reading Monocle – I finally got a subscription – but couldn’t really focus because of the heat. I’m also nursing a headache. All I did was drive in the morning. Today I listen to Kuhnspiracy, the new album from Groningen band Kuhn Fu. (The founder is a guy named Christian Kühn. Smart.) The band’s a fun mix of jazz, rock and all those things – but perhaps more importantly, it somehow seemed to fit the very sweltering summer heat. It’s like time was bending. Things were going back and forth and back again. Maybe my headache got worse, but I don’t blame it on the album. It was quite trippy. In the right context, it will be. The album drops this Friday. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

