“I wish I could break all the chains holding me.”

 

“I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free” by Courtney Marie Andrews and Bonnie “Prince” Billy | You know things are getting really weird when you watch coverage of the Trump administration and see hope in it. Then again, I live in the Philippines. There is outrage, but the successful politicization of any discussion meant anybody who speaks up is branded as a yellow stain that must be vanquished at all costs. So, outrage is kept in echo chambers, as well as statements of blind support – imagine being a guy who sits in the middle of the camps. Over in the United States, people are actually fighting in defense of what they hold dear: so many efforts to protect things usually taken for granted, now under threat from a bumbling furball with authoritarian fascinations. (Maybe that’s the difference – ours isn’t a bumbling furball.) Our First 100 Days is one such project, a hundred songs (released one per day) which you can get with a minimum donation of $30. There are stuff from the likes of Angel OlsenJens Lekman and Kate Tempest – and this one, from Courtney Marie Andrews and Bonnie “Prince” Billy. It is a cover, yes, but then this has endured no matter who’s singing or what the setting is. So, my question: what about us? [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

