“We are not accidents.”

“Beautifully Human” by Naomi Wachira | If I’m to be honest with you, I was not feeling this the first time. But funny how contexts can change things. After a particularly frantic phone call – it was thirty minutes long, I think? – I returned to this song, from Kenyan-born, Seattle-based folkie Naomi Wachira, and it snapped into place. If you’ve heard of her, you know she leans heavily on her African heritage, a sound that defines her previous records, and is set to define her new record, Songs of Lament. “Beautifully Human” is a song about, well, how good we all are despite our differences – a well-trod road, but one made easy by that effortless mix of heritage and modern sensibility. Now I shouldn’t have said that first sentence, but, well, we also have to be true to ourselves if we’re all to be, as the song says, not accidents. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

