“I lost my mind. I don’t mind.”

“Bellyache” by Billie Eilish | Spot the theme? Well, perhaps it’s all in my mind, that one about today’s song and yesterday’s having titles that start with a B and evoke a narrative of overconsumption and its aftermath. And then there’s me finally catching up on my recording of Triple J’s Good Az Friday this week – it’s been sitting on my queue for weeks, and I finally got to listen to their annual stand-up comedy special a couple of nights ago, with this song in between. I’ve read about how Billie will supposedly set the world on fire considering she’s just 15, but then, that’s hyperbole of the sort you often see from the spin cycle. That’s not to discount her; “Bellyache” is actually quite good, the way it starts from a warm guitar-led bit before going all trap on us. (Is it really trap? I am 28, I was never cool, and I can never be cool.) Like yesterday’s song it also wriggles its way into your head, but in a sublime way. And sparse, like most western pop seems to be these days. The aesthetic just feels so vaguely American. [NB]

Got something?

