“I’ll check with my boyfriend and see if it’s fine.”

“Ruby” by Charly Bliss | Once again, a song I am a year behind on, but, you know, I should stop making excuses for this behavior. I think I should return to paying close attention to European alternative radio stations again – but, yes, this band is from New York, and, yes, their debut full-length just dropped a few weeks ago. Most interesting bit about Charly Bliss, perhaps, is how chunky their guitars sound, but how clear Eva Hendricks’ vocal is – like the best of two worlds, if both worlds clearly came from the 90s. I heard this in isolation on Monday (I was having a pedicure – yes) and wasn’t sure which era this was from, which, according to some standards, is good. Chunky good. [NB]

Got something?

